Left to right: Jeffrey Moore, Susan Martinis, CCIL Director Rohit Bhargava, John Coleman, Philippe Geubelle, and Mark Anastasio

Cancer Center at Illinois Director Rohit Bhargava was officially named the Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering during an investiture ceremony on Friday, September 29, at the Beckman Institute.

Bhargava has been an Illinois faculty member in the Department of Bioengineering since 2005. He founded the Cancer Community in 2011, which has since transformed into the Cancer Center at Illinois – one of nine campuswide research institutes.

Investiture speakers included Grainger College of Engineering Executive Associate Dean Philippe Geubelle, Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation Susan Martinis, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost John Coleman, Department of Bioengineering Head Mark Anastasio, and Professor Emeritus of Chemistry Jeffrey Moore.

Bhargava’s research has led to novel developments in infrared spectroscopic imaging, including new methods to analyze spectral data and high-throughput methods for pathology. In addition to his research, Bhargava is passionate about training the next generation of cancer researchers and serves as a mentor and advisor for postdoctoral, graduate, and undergraduate students.

Written by Jessica Clegg, CCIL Communications Team

Pictures by Jakob Stutz, CCIL Communications Team